Meredith Takes DC

Updates from my semester in Washington DC

Week Six March 16, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Meredith Winnett @ 9:16 pm

This week was extremely busy!  Tim visited for  whole seven days, so we did all the touristy things around the city. The day he drove down, we walked the entire National Mall … which is much bigger than we both thought.

IMG_0721

A very rude squirrel who took my seat

A very rude squirrel who took my seat

IMG_0727 IMG_0728

On the second day Tim was here, we went to the zoo! This has to be my favorite place in the city … minus the gorillas who eat their own vomit. It was a beautiful day for a walk in the zoo though. I even got my first sunburn of the year!

A peacock who really wanted to fight

A peacock who really wanted to fight

my new favorite animal - the red panda

my new favorite animal – the red panda

Monday after programming, we ran over to the American History museum, which now closes at five so we only had an hour to look around. We did see most of the third floor though, including the C SPAN First Lady’s exhibit! They have inaugural ball dresses from a lot of the first ladies along with other items the first ladies had. We made it over to see the monuments at night and resisted the urge to yell at the 5 million disrespectful children running around. They were all gone by 9 though, so we got some quiet time.

IMG_0740 IMG_0743

my fascination with Lincoln continues ...

my fascination with Lincoln continues …

We then found time to make it over to Arlington National Cemetery, where I got my second sunburn of the year. We saw where JFK and the rest of the Kennedy’s are buried, the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, and we saw my grandmother’s cousin’s grave!

IMG_0759 IMG_0764 IMG_0767

In case you were wondering, I did work this week. I just had so much fun with Timmy that I’d rather brag about our adventure than work 🙂 Unfortunately by Wednesday night I was feeling a little sick from not sleeping very much, so I missed class and took a half day on Thursday. This week, I will be 100% for both though!

 

 

Leave a comment